Africa to participate at the International Surrealism Now art Exhibition 2017/2018 in Portugal December 23

Morocco, Egypt, Nigeria and Algeria are the African countries to be present in the next edition of Surrealism Now, the largest World Surrealism exhibition of the 21st century which gathers artwork from more than 48 countries

Following on from this participation, the organisers, including the mentor of the project, the artist Santiago, are looking for more active participation from the African continent in this event with a great international appeal.

Portuguese surrealist painter Santiago Ribeiro feels that Africa has strong cultural influences and a role to play on the international scene, he said, “due to the large African presence in Portugal, especially from the five Afro-Portuguese countries, it is only naural that African art is included and showcased in this international art exhibit.”

Also, in an attempt to take art to the people en masse – and promote the largest group exhibit of surrealist art this winter — Portuguese surrealist painter Santiago Ribeiro is teasing the public with flash images of his work in the most famous intersection of the world: Times Square.

Ribeiro’s vivid, colorful paintings will be shown sporadically – flashed on random days at random times — on the Nasdaq OMX Group and Thomson Reuters sign screens in New York City until December 31, 2017. They will be up for three whole minutes on the Reuter’s screen for each appearance – ample time for tens of thousands of pedestrians to catch a glimpse.

“As always I´m doing something different and the idea to exhibit in Times Square in New York shows how the mass media is also our modern means to show our art,” Ribeiro said.

Ribeiro’s work has been featured at the U.S. embassy in Lisbon, in the Portuguese American Journal, in Digital Meets Culture, Praad in Portuguese and many other publications. The exhibition sponsors include Bissaya Barreto Foundation, Condeixa a Nova House Mayor and MagicCraftsman Studio.

Ribeiro conceived the International Surrealism Now movement in 2010 in Coimbra with a major exhibit organized by Bissaya Barreto.

The pieces of art from the International Surrealism Now exhibit will be on display at the multimedia POROS Museum in Condeixa-a-Nova from December 23rd. Billed as the largest world exhibition of contemporary Surrealism art in Europe – with more than 100 artists from 48 countries participating – the exhibit of paintings, drawings, digital art, photographs and sculpture is also expected to be shown, at least in part, at several monuments and public spaces throughout Portugal.

The International Surrealism Now 2017/18 Art Exhibition will be held in Portugal at Museum Multimedia POROS in Condeixa-a-Nova with participation from 5 continents: Africa, Asia, Americas, Oceania and Europe represented.International Surrealism Now art Exhibition


Achraf Baznani, Morocco / Agim Meta, Spain / Aissa Mammasse, Algeria / Alvaro Mejias, Venezuela /Ana Araújo, Portugal / Ana Neamu, Romania / Ana Pilar Morales, Spain / Andrew Baines, Australia Asier Guerrero Rico (Dio), Spain Brigid Marlin, UK / Bien Banez, Philippines Can Emed, Turkey Carlos Sablón, Cuba / Cătălin Precup, Romania / Cristian Townsend, Australia Conor Walton, Ireland Cynthia Tom,China / USA / Dag Samsund, Denmark Daila Lupo, Italy / Dan Neamu, Romania Daniel Chiriac, Romania Daniel Hanequand, France / Canada Daniele Gori, Italy / Delphine Cencig, France / Dean Fleming, USA/ Domen Lo, Slovenia Edgar Invoker, Russia / Efrat Cybulkiewicz, Venezuela Egill Eibsen, Iceland Erik Heyninck, Belgium Ettore Aldo Del Vigo, Italy Farhad Jafari, Iran France Garrido, USA / Francisco Urbano, Portugal / Graça Bordalo Pinheiro, Portugal Graszka Paulska, Poland / Gromyko Semper, Philippines Gyuri Lohmuller, Romania Hector Pineda, Mexico Hector Toro, Colombia / Henrietta Kozica, Sweden/ Hugues Gillet, France Isabel Meyrelles, Portugal Iwasaki Nagi, Japan James Skelton, UK / Jay Garfinkle, USA Jay Paul Vonkoffler, American / Argentine Jimah St, Nigeria João Duarte, Portugal / Keith Wigdor, USA Konstantin Krok, Belarus Leo Wijnhoven, Netherlands Leo Plaw, Germany / Liba WS, France Lubomír Štícha, Republic Czech / Ludgero Rolo, Portugal Lv Shang, China / Maciej Hoffman, Poland /Magi Calhoun, USA / Marnie Pitts, UK / Maria Aristova, Russia / Mario Devcic, Croatia Martina Hoffman, Germany / Mathias Böhm, Germany / Mehriban Efendi, Azerbaijan Naiker Roman, Cuba / Spain /Nazareno Stanislau, Brazil / Nikolina Petolas, Croatia Nipon Jungkina, Thailand / Octavian Florescu, Canada / Oleg Korolev, Russia Olesya Novik, Russia Olga Caldas, France Olga Spiegel, USA / Otto Rapp,Austria Paula Rosa, Portugal / Paulo Cunha, Canada Pedro Diaz Cartes, Chile / Penny Golledge, UK / Peter MC LANE, France Philippe Pelletier, France / Roch Fautch, USA / Rodica Miller, USA / Ruben Cukier, Argentine / Israeli / Rudolf Boelee, New Zealand Sabina Nore, Austria Sampo Kaikkonen, Finland Santiago Ribeiro, Portugal / Sarah Zambiasi, Australia / Serge Sunne, Latvia / Sergey Tyukanov, Russia /Shahla Rosa, USA / Shoji Tanaka, Japan Shan Zhulan, China Shia Weltenmenge, Germany / Sio Shisio, Indonesia / Slavko Krunic, Serbia Snežana Petrović, Serbia / Sônia Menna Barreto, Brazil / Steve Smith,USA Stuart Griggs, UK / Svetlana Kislyachenko, Ukraine Svetlana Ratova, Russia Tatomir Pitariu, USA Ton Haring, Netherlands / Victor Lages, Portugal Vu Huyen Thuong, Vietnam Yamal Din, Morocco / Spain/ Yuri Tsvetaev, Russia Zoltan Ducsai, Hungary Zoran Velimanovic, Serbia.

The 48 countries represented: Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Croatia, Czech Republic, Cuba, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nigeria, Pakistan, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Ukraine, Venezuela, Vietnam.

Post Author: Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *